Responsible investments since 1962* Responsible investments since 1962*

DEG IMPACT – ONE OF THE MOST EXPERIENCED INVESTMENT ADVISORS FOR EMERGING MARKETS

About us

DEG Impact provides advice to professional clients on investments in Developing and Emerging Markets.

With the help of DEG’s global presence and our in-depth knowledge of local markets, we source, execute and advise on managing customized and profitable investment portfolios for our clients.
We implement international best-practice environmental, social and corporate governance standards based on established KfW Group and DEG’s established guidlines.

We offer our clients attractive investment opportunities, portfolio mangement services and quantitative development impact measurement (DERa®).

Our aim is to combine attractive returns with ESG best practices and developmental impact.

* DEG Impact is a 100% subsidiary of DEG – Deutsche Investitions- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft mbH, which has been active in emerging markets since 1962 and currently advises and finances more than 700 investments totalling approximately EUR 9 billion

Global presence and long experience

As a subsidiary of DEG, we have almost 60 years of experience and 20 international locations in developing emerging countries at our disposal.

Our approach

We use our own and KfW Group’s extensive network in the fast-growing markets of Africa, Asia, Latin America and Eastern Europe to identify attractive investments for our clients and at the same time establish international environmental, social and corporate governance standards.

KfW DEG presence map

Environmental and social guidelines

Environmental protection, the sustainable use of natural resources and compliance with internationally recognized social standards are the basis for economic and social development.
We consider it our social responsibility to support sustainable development.

We take responsibility

A significant element of our activities is to improve quality of life for future generations and to build up self-sustaining economic structures. We ensure that each investment abides by the environmental and social principles of the KfW Group “Responsibility in Society”.

Compliance with international standards

In accordance with the World Bank’s Environmental and Social Standards and the IFC Performance Standards for Private Sector Cooperation, we ensure that national and international environmental and social standards are enforced. In addition, the DEG exclusion list applies to all new investments.

We contribute to raising environmental and social awareness by making our expertise available in our partner countries.

Please find further information on DEG’s environmental and social guidelines on its webpage.

An experienced team An experienced team

Many years of experience in alternative investment and emerging markets

Thomas Klein (CEO und Geschäftführer)Thomas KleinManaging Director
Thomas Klein (CEO und Geschäftführer)
Thomas KleinManaging DirectorThomas Klein has more than 20 years of experience in the financial sector – both in established markets as well as in developed and emerging countries. Before co-founding DEG Impact, he was at DEG mainly responsible for private equity & mezzanine investments in Asia and Afrika. Prior to DEG, he worked for CAM Private Equity and Deloitte in the area of transaction services / M&A. He holds a degree in business administration from the University of Cologne.
Lars Zimmermann (Vice President)Lars ZimmermannVice President
Lars Zimmermann (Vice President)
Lars ZimmermannVice PresidentLars Zimmermann is co-responsible for new business and portfolio management of funds and co-investments. Before joining DEG Impact, Lars worked for DEG, where he managed funds & co-investments in emerging markets with a focus on Africa. He holds a degree in business administration from the Universities of Cologne and Copenhagen.
Tobias Kauer (Vice President)Tobias KauerVice President
Tobias Kauer (Vice President)
Tobias KauerVice PresidentTobias Kauer has more than 10 years of experience in alternative investments with a focus on private equity. Prior to joining DEG Impact, he was an Investment Director at the Cologne-based venture capital investor BitStone and a Principal at Caplantic Alternative Assets, where he invested more than €1 billion in over 40 private equity and venture capital funds for institutional investors. Tobias is a CAIA charterholder and holds a university degree in business administration from the University of Cologne.
Hanna GenzmerSenior Manager
Hanna GenzmerSenior ManagerHanna is responsible for the business line GIIF & Connect. Before she took over that task at DEG Impact, she headed the Portfolio Administration division of Caplantic, where she was responsible for the reporting, monitoring and cash management of the portfolio which consisted of over 400 Alternative Investment Funds. She holds a Master's Degree in Economics from the University of Cologne and started her career with the German Federal Bank.
Steffen Planert Senior AnalystSteffen PlanertSenior Analyst
Steffen Planert Senior Analyst
Steffen PlanertSenior AnalystSteffen Planert is a Senior Analyst at DEG Impact with more than 5 years of private equity and M&A experience in emerging and developing markets. Prior to joining DEG Impact, he worked as an investment Analyst for DEG, where he worked on several transactions and was responsible for a mixed portfolio of funds & co-investments in Africa. Steffen has a Master’s degree in accounting and finance from FOM – University of Applied Sciences Essen.
Rena Hufmann (Analystin)Rena HufmannAnalyst
Rena Hufmann (Analystin)
Rena HufmannAnalystRena Hufmann is an analyst at DEG Impact, specialising in Alternative Investments and Impact Investing, and holds a Master’s degree in Sustainable Finance from Maastricht University. Before joining DEG Impact, she was responsible for business development for asset managers at HSBC Germany.
Anna Niedergesäss (Managerin TA & E&S)Anna NiedergesässManager TA & E&S
Anna Niedergesäss (Managerin TA & E&S)
Anna NiedergesässManager TA & E&SAnna Niedergesäss is a specialist in environmental and social management and is responsible for the Technical Assistance Facility of the AfricaGrow fund. Before joining DEG Impact, she worked on financial and private sector development projects for GIZ and Sparkassenstiftung. She holds a Master’s degree in Economics with a focus on developing and emerging countries from Copenhagen Business School.
Jens Punstein (Risiko-Controlling)Jens PunsteinRisk Controlling
Jens Punstein (Risiko-Controlling)
Jens PunsteinRisk ControllingJens Punstein has overseen risk control at DEG Impact since June 2020. Jens has combined more than 25 years of banking and asset management experience, including  8 years with DEG where he co- launched 3rd party capital management services for corporate clients. Prior to DEG, he led the investment activities of Kreissparkasse Köln and was a partner of Antecedo Asset Management. 
Stefanie Klenke (Management-Support)Stefanie KlenkeManagement Support
Stefanie Klenke (Management-Support)
Stefanie KlenkeManagement SupportStefanie Klenke supports the management team of DEG Impact. She previously held various positions at DEG. She completed a commercial apprenticeship and later studied English at the University of Cologne and Washington University in St. Louis (USA).

DERa® – Measuring effectiveness

We use DEG’s impact management tool Development Effectiveness Rating (DERa®), to measure the developmental impact of each investment and aggregated portfolios.

The rating relies on international best-practice approaches by using mainly quantitative, but also soft indicators. Aligned to the SDGs, DERa evaluates the developmental contributions of each investment and the overall portfolio.

DERa® tool explanation
DEG Impact Mandate DEG Impact Mandate

Our main consulting services

– Market analysis and screening of fund markets, origination and execution of fund or direct invesmtents
– Financial, commercial and E&S due diligence
– Support in contract negotiations and drafting
– Portfolio oversight and the exercising of advisory board seats
– Main contact person for target funds
– Evaluation of the ecological and social impact/DERa®
– Liquidity- and FX-management

AfricaGrow fund

DEG Impact is the exclusive advisor of the AfricaGrow fund and manages the TA-Facility on behalf of Allianz Global Investors and the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).

The Fund of Fund will provide EUR 200 million of funding to African SME growth and venture capital funds and additional EUR 15 million in Technical Assistance (“TA”). The regional focus is on partner countries of the Compact with Africa (“CwA”). AfricaGrow aims to invest in 14 to 18 funds and to allocate up to 10% of its capital to direct investments. The fund is managed by Allianz Global Investors GmbH.

Further information on the AfricaGrow Fund.

Responsible Investments seit 1962* Responsible Investments seit 1962*

DEG IMPACT – EINER DER ERFAHRENSTEN INVESTMENTBERATER FÜR EMERGING MARKETS

Über uns

Die DEG Impact berät professionelle Kunden bei Investitionen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern.

Mit Hilfe der globalen Präsenz zusammen mit der DEG und unserer fundierten Kenntnis der lokalen Märkte entwickeln wir mit unseren Kunden individuelle, ertragsstarke Investmentstrategien und Portfolien.
Wir nutzen unser Netzwerk innerhalb der KfW Bankengruppe und der DEG, um internationale Umwelt-, Sozial- und Corporate-Governance-Standards zu etablieren und zu verbreiten.

Wir bieten unseren Kunden Investitionsmöglichkeiten und Impact Measurement (DERa®) aus einer Hand.

Ziel ist es attraktive Renditen mit ESG-Best-Practices und entwicklungspolitischer Wirkung zu verbinden.

* Die DEG Impact ist 100%ige Tochter der DEG – Deutsche Investitions- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft mbH, welche seit 1962 in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern aktiv ist und aktuell mit rund EUR 9 Mrd. mehr als 700 Unternehmen und Fonds berät und finanziert

Globale Präsenz und langjährige Erfahrung

Als 100%ige Tochter der DEG verfügen wir gemeinsam über fast 60 Jahre Erfahrung sowie 20 internationale Standorte in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern.

Unser Ansatz

Wir nutzen unser eigenes und das umfangreiche Netzwerk der KfW Bankengruppe in den wachstumsstarken Märkten Afrikas, Asiens, Lateinamerikas und Osteuropas, um attraktive Investments für unsere Kunden zu identifizieren und gleichzeitig internationale Umwelt-, Sozial- und Corporate Governance Standards zu etablieren.

KfW DEG Präsenzkarte

Umwelt- und Sozialrichtlinie

Umweltschutz, die nachhaltige Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen sowie die Einhaltung verbindlicher Sozialstandards sind grundlegende Faktoren für den wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklungsprozess.
Die Unterstützung einer nachhaltig zukunftssicheren Entwicklung sehen wir als unsere gesellschaftliche Verantwortung.

Wir übernehmen Verantwortung

Grundlegendes Element unseres Handelns ist die Sicherung der Lebensgrundlagen und der Lebensqualität auch kommender Generationen und der Aufbau selbst tragender Wirtschaftsstrukturen. Wir orientieren uns an den Umwelt- und Sozialleitsätzen der KfW Bankengruppe „Verantwortung in der Gesellschaft“. Die Beachtung der Umwelt- und Sozialverträglichkeit von Investitionen sind Bestandteil unseres Handelns.

Einhaltung internationaler Standards

In Übereinstimmung mit den Umwelt- und Sozialstandards (Environmental and Social Standards) der Weltbank und den IFC Performance Standards für die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Privatsektor stellen wir sicher, dass nationale und internationale Umwelt- und Sozialstandards angewandt werden. Zudem findet die DEG Ausschlussliste Anwendung.

Mit unserem Know-how tragen wir zur Steigerung des Umwelt- und Sozialbewusstseins in unseren Partnerländern bei.

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zur DEG-Umwelt- und Sozialrichtlinie.

Ein erfahrenes Team Ein erfahrenes Team

Langjährige Alternative Investment und Emerging Markets Erfahrung

Thomas Klein (CEO und Geschäftsführer)Thomas KleinGeschäftsführer
Thomas Klein (CEO und Geschäftsführer)
Thomas KleinGeschäftsführerThomas Klein vereint mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Finanzsektor – sowohl in etablierten Märkten als auch in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern. Bevor er die DEG Impact mitgründete, war er bei der DEG vor allem für Private Equity & Mezzanine-Investitionen in Asien und Afrika verantwortlich. Zuvor war er bei CAM Private Equity und bei Deloitte im Bereich Transaction Services / M&A tätig. Er hat einen Universitätsabschluss als Dipl. Kfm. in Betriebswirtschaftslehre der Universität zu Köln.
Lars Zimmermann (Vice President)Lars ZimmermannVice President
Lars Zimmermann (Vice President)
Lars ZimmermannVice PresidentLars Zimmermann ist mitverantwortlich für das Neugeschäft und das Portfoliomanagement von Fonds- und Co-Investments. Vor seinem Wechsel zu DEG Impact war Lars für die DEG tätig, wo er Fonds & Co-Investments in Schwellenländern mit Schwerpunkt Afrika betreute. Er hat einen Universitätsabschluss als Dipl. Kfm. in Betriebswirtschaftslehre der Universitäten Köln und Kopenhagen.
Tobias Kauer (Vice President)Tobias KauerVice President
Tobias Kauer (Vice President)
Tobias KauerVice PresidentTobias Kauer verfügt über mehr als zehn Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich alternativer Kapitalanlagen mit Schwerpunkt Private Equity. Bevor er zu DEG Impact kam, war er als Investment Director beim Kölner Venture Capital Investor BitStone und als Principal bei Caplantic Alternative Assets tätig, wo er mehr als 1 Milliarde Euro in über 40 Private Equity und Venture Capital Fonds für institutionelle Investoren investierte. Tobias ist CAIA-Charterholder und hat einen Unversitätsabschluss als Dipl. Kfm. in Betriebswirtschaftlehre der Universität zu Köln.
Steffen Planert (Senior Analyst)Steffen PlanertSenior Analyst
Steffen Planert (Senior Analyst)
Steffen PlanertSenior AnalystSteffen Planert verfügt als Senior Analyst über mehr als fünf Jahre Erfahrung in Private Equity und M&A. Steffen wechselte von der DEG, wo er eine Vielzahl von Transaktionen begleitete und für ein gemischtes Portfolio aus Fonds & Co-Investments in Afrika verantwortlich war, zur DEG Impact. Er ist Masterabsolvent der FOM – Hochschule für Oekonomie und Management in Essen mit Schwerpunkt Accounting & Finance.
Rena Hufmann (Analystin)Rena HufmanAnalystin
Rena Hufmann (Analystin)
Rena HufmanAnalystinRena Hufmann ist Analystin bei der DEG Impact. Sie hat sich auf Alternative Investments und Impact Investing spezialisiert und verfügt über einen Master-Abschluss in Sustainable Finance der Maastricht University. Bevor sie zur DEG Impact wechselte, war sie bei HSBC Deutschland u.a. im Bereich Business Development für Asset Manager tätig.
Anna Niedergesäss (Managerin TA & E&S)Anna NiedergesässManagerin TA & E&S
Anna Niedergesäss (Managerin TA & E&S)
Anna NiedergesässManagerin TA & E&SAnna Niedergesäss ist Spezialistin für Umwelt- und Sozialmanagement und verantwortlich für die Technical Assistance Facility des AfricaGrow Fund. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei DEG Impact arbeitete sie an Projekten zur Finanz- und Privatsektorentwicklung für die GIZ und die Sparkassenstiftung. Sie hat einen Master in Wirtschaftswissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt auf Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer der Copenhagen Business School.
Jens Punstein (Risiko-Controlling)Jens PunsteinRisiko-Controlling
Jens Punstein (Risiko-Controlling)
Jens PunsteinRisiko-ControllingJens Punstein zählt zum Gründungsteam der DEG Impact und ist dort für Risiko-Controlling verantwortlich. Während seiner mehr als 25-jährigen Tätigkeit im Bank- und Vermögensverwaltungsgeschäft war er acht Jahre lang bei der DEG, hier u. a. Teil der Abteilung Firmenkunden und Unternehmensstrategie, leitete die Investmentaktivitäten der Kreissparkasse Köln und war Partner von Antecedo Asset Management.
Stefanie Klenke (Management-Support)Stefanie KlenkeManagement-Support
Stefanie Klenke (Management-Support)
Stefanie KlenkeManagement-SupportStefanie Klenke unterstützt das Management-Team von DEG Impact. Zuvor war sie in verschiedenen Positionen bei der DEG tätig. Sie hat eine kaufmännische Ausbildung absolviert und später an der Universität zu Köln und der Washington University in St. Louis (USA) Anglistik studiert.

DERa® – Wirksamkeit messen

Wir nutzen das Wirkungsmanagement-Tool der DEG, das Development Effectiveness Rating (DERa®). Damit messen wir die entwicklungspolitische Wirkung der getätigten Investments.

Das Rating greift internationale Best-Practice Ansätze auf, indem es überwiegend quantitative und harmonisierte Indikatoren verwendet. Ausgerichtet an den SDGs (Sustainable Development Goals), werden im DERa die Entwicklungsbeiträge jedes Investments bewertet und können auf Portfolioebene aggregiert werden.

DERa® Best Practice Erklärung
DEG Impact Mandate DEG Impact Mandate

Unsere wesentlichen Beratungsleistungen

– Marktanalyse und Screening des Fonds Marktes und entsprechender Co-Investments
– Financial, Commercial sowie E&S Due Diligence
– Unterstützung bei der Vertragsverhandlung und -gestaltung
– Laufende Betreuung der Investments und Wahrnehmung von Advisory Board Sitzen
– Hauptansprechpartner für Zielfonds
– Auswertung der ökologischen und gesellschaftlichen Wirkung/DERa®

AfricaGrow Fund

Der Dachfonds stellt mit einem Volumen von EUR 200 Mio. finanzielle Mittel für afrikanische KMU-Wachstums- und Wagniskapitalfonds bereit. Regionaler Schwerpunkt sind Partnerländer des Compact with Africa („CwA“). Der Dachfonds ist mit einer Technical Assistance („TA“) Facility in Höhe von EUR 15 Mio. ausgestattet. Ziel ist es, in 14 bis 18 Fonds zu investieren, wobei 10 % in Co-Investments fließen können. Der Fonds wird von Allianz Global Investors GmbH verwaltet.

Die DEG Impact ist exklusiver Berater des AfricaGrow Fund bzw. der Allianz Global Investors und der dazugehörigen TA-Facility.

Weiterführende Informationen zum AfricaGrow Fund.